Recipe: Modified Version of Jamie Oliver’s A Cracking Burger

What I love about barbecues is how food always taste so good right off the grill, and because I’m very picky when it comes to burgers, it is a chance for me to not only put whatever condiments and topping on my burger, but it is an opportunity to make my own burger.

My family and I did a small barbecue at home during the Victoria Day weekend (overdue post, I know). While looking up various recipes last year, I stumbled upon a recipe by Jamie Oliver that looked interesting because instead of typically using bread crumbs, he called for crackers (see recipe here).

The first time I made this, I followed it word for word and surprisingly, the crackers gave a simple burger a nice texture. A friend of mine has dubbed it the most healthiest burger he had ever seen due to the amount of greenery he saw in the burger patty.

I did feel it was missing something. So this time, I added a bit of minced garlic, minced shallots, Dijon mustard and Worcestershire sauce. I’ve also reduced the amount of salt added to the mixture.

The second try is a charm!

Leave a Reply

