Visit: Streetsville & Port Credit, Mississauga

A few things I like to do during the weekend is to go see what else Toronto and surrounding region have to offer. Having lived in Toronto my entire life, I can appreciate how everything is in walking distance and the numerous cultural pockets that makes the city so special. While there’s always some cons to living in the city– the traffic, the high cost of living, the unreliable transit system and more, I can’t picture myself living elsewhere.

I guess you can say I’m a bonafide city girl.

Nonetheless, there are things that suburbs have to offer, including a few hidden gems, which takes us to Mississauga, a suburban city located west of the Greater Toronto Area (GTA). The GTA is a large metropolitan area comprising of the City of Toronto and surrounding municipalities (which comprises of cities and towns).

The hidden gem that I consider in Mississauga is Streetsville.

Image

I have fond memories of Streetsville where in my third year of university, my friends and I decided to play hooky late afternoon after spending hours in the computer lab working on a project (if I recall, we may have skipped a lecture as well).

Image

Image

Image

Image

I was awed by the small town charm Streetsville considering there was suburban development surrounding it. The historical buildings dating back to the 1800s and its streetscapes gave it the feeling of one no longer in a suburb.

Image

Image

After a walk around streets and along Credit River, we (my brother and I) had a short lunch at The Franklin House. We also stopped by Swirls for cupcakes and gelato. Swirls is one of the shops we visited during our hooky trip. I remember when we got there, the shop had just closed but people were still inside having a cup of coffee (they didn’t seem like patrons). They unlocked the door for us and gave us a discount on half a dozen cupcakes.

Image

Image

I would have picked Mangolicious for nostalgic sake, but I chose Take-a-Momint, which was a mint buttercream frosting on a moist chocolate cake. We then drove off to Port Credit.
Image

Even though it’s about a 30 minute drive from Toronto, I have never been to Port Credit. It has a spectacular waterfront view (I’m a sucker for waterfront views) that makes you forget you’re so close to the city.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

