Eat: Sansotei Ramen

Dear Sansotei, I did not have my passport with me, but you took me on a journey to Japan.

ImageOut of all the ramen restaurants I’ve tried, Sansotei is now the top of my favourite list. It took me a long time to try Sansotei and I honestly do not know why it took me this long. Maybe because there always seems to be line ups, and they close on Sundays.

However, I admit that I have lined up at Kinton and at Santouka (twice!). So technically lining up at Sansotei should not have been a problem.

I came here with my brother and a mutual friend. We ended having to line up, but we were first in line and was seated within 10 minutes.

ImageI order their most popular ramen, the Tonkotsu. You can choose the thickness of the noodles: thin, thick or original.

The Tonkotsu ramen has a rich and creamy broth, tender pork belly, black fungus, green onions and a partially runny soft boiled egg. I should have asked for an extra egg. I chose thin noodles, which were chewy, but I wished I went with thick noodles for more bite. Nonetheless, it was literally happiness in a bowl.

Service-wise, it was friendly. Our waitress heard us talking about how they are not opened on Sundays and admitted that they do get a little flack for closing on Sundays. It’s okay though, I would return here and line up if I have to.

Edit: This is a revisit from May 2014:

A revisit to Sansotei Ramen.

ImageI had the Tonkotsu again but this time with regular ramen noodles and extra egg. There is no difference between the thin and regular noodles — in fact, they are the same!

ImageDinner partner had the Tonkotsu Black, same as Tonkotsu but with the addition of garlic oil.

Edit: This is a revisit from June 2014:

Can you tell how much I love Sansotei Ramen? This is probably my third visit in a span of two months.

Sansotei-3

I wanted to try something different this time, so I got the Shio Ramen with extra egg and thick noodles. A clearer broth than the Tonkotsu, but saltier due to it being salt-based. I much prefer the Tonkotsu, which is more flavourful. However, forget getting the thin (regular) noodles, the thick noodles are definitely the way to go, giving the bowl of ramen a bit more substance.

Sansotei Ramen
179 Dundas St. W
Toronto, ON
M5G 1Z8

Leave a Reply

