Recipe: (I can’t believe how simple it is) Chia Pudding

I’m probably late in the game especially when it seems like everyone and their grandmother is making chia pudding, but wow… I think I’m looking forward to breakfast and Summer with chia pudding.

chiapudding03I also cannot believe how easy it is to make it, and how versatile with the toppings and add-ons. Chia pudding, why did not I discover you sooner?

Aside from the fact that chia seeds are considered “superfood” (tons of nutrients, antioxidants, etc.), I wanted to test if it will keep me from feeling full by lunch (I’m usually munching on something by 10:00am– my co-workers jokingly call it my 10:00am/4:00pm (*sigh*) snack time). So far, I’m doing okay… can’t resist a bit of chocolate sometime ;).

At first, the texture can be a bit strange. As the seeds absorbs liquid, it develops this gel-like feature liken to tapioca, but there’s still a bit of the little seedy bites (like kiwi but not quite). By adding fruits, etc, I did find that it helps with getting used to the texture and quite frankly, the pudding is growing on me.

chiapudding01Ingredients:
– ⅓ cup chia seeds
– 1½ cup almond milk (I used unsweetened as I was not sure how sweet it would be when I add sweeteners, but I think it would taste better with regular almond milk)
– 2 tbsp maple syrup
– ½ tsp vanilla extract

chiapudding02Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix well. Put it in the fridge to chill overnight. C’est tout!

2 thoughts on “Recipe: (I can’t believe how simple it is) Chia Pudding

Leave a Reply

