Eat: Wooffles & Cream

Coming back to Toronto, I was completely jet lagged. Long haul flights are stressful, and I had multiple layover stops (Melbourne to Auckland, New Zealand to Vancouver, BC to home), which is even more stressful with the changing time zones.

I was running on Melbourne time for a few days; wide awake when I should be sleeping, and in deep sleep when I should be awake. It was frustrating. It was like a sign that I’m mentally in Melbourne, but physically in Toronto.

IMG_2734Melatonin may help but I needed a reason to stay awake during the day. My brother suggested we try Wooffles & Cream, a small dessert shop inside an Asian shopping mall in Markham has been getting a lot of hype, especially for their soft serve ice cream with HK style egg waffles, dubbed “wooffles”.

One can recognize the shop by the sometime long line up (depends when you go), and the people sitting in the food court waiting for their order.

IMG_2735The soft-serve ice cream choices are very limited to just three: vanilla, matcha green tea and twist, which is a mix of both vanilla and green tea. You can get it in a cup for $3.50 or a cone for $4.50.

The HK waffles, however are a little more interesting. I love HK waffles; I love the eggy aroma of it. They offer some safe options ($3.50) like original to specialty ones ($4.50) like lap cheong (Chinese sausage) and seaweed. They also offer parfait cups and Italian soda, but I didn’t get those. I wanted what everyone seemed to rave about.

My brother and I went on a Friday afternoon and waited in line for about 10 minutes to place our order and was told it would take about 20 minutes for our order. The line wasn’t terrible to begin with. I did visit Woofles & Cream again on a separate occasion, also on a Friday but late, maybe 9:00pm ish, the lines was long and it was about a 40 minute wait. I don’t want to know what it’s like on weekends, so plan accordingly.

Bring Chinese checkers and a friend.

IMG_2736My brother got the twist ice cream with lap cheong and seaweed waffle.

IMG_2738I got the black and white sesame waffles with green tea ice cream. Monstrosity this was! Soft-serve ice cream, always yum but there was not much matcha flavour in the ice cream. The waffles, however was a bit of a miss. I liked the crispy exterior, but it wasn’t as fluffy as I would have preferred.

It’s a popular place since it opened last month, but with two staff manning the shop and with maybe 2 or 3 waffle machines on the go, in addition to taking orders and assembling them, there’s logistical issues here. Worth the wait? No.

Also, it didn’t beat the $2 AUD (about $1.90 CAD) green tea soft serve on a cone.

Wooffles & Cream
8360 Kennedy Road
Unit 81
Markham, ON L3R 5Y7

2 thoughts on “Eat: Wooffles & Cream

Leave a Reply

