Eat: The County General

The big sister of County General Riverside (my visit here), The County General is almost a complete opposite from its Riverside counterpart with a bit less farmhouse chic and more hipster.

It’s in Trinity Bellwoods after all.

IMG_2780My brother and I came here on a Friday into Labour Day weekend for a drink. We came at a time when they were about to close the kitchen to prepare for dinner service, so we were told that if we wanted food, we should order soon as the only thing available during the transition would be burgers. Doesn’t make sense, but ok.

IMG_2784The General’s Cup ($12) with Cucumber Infused Pimm’s No. 1 Gin, Lemon, Lavender Bitters, and Ginger Beer. Anything with ginger beer, you got me. Too bad it wasn’t Hendrick’s Gin. I love me some Hendricks.

IMG_2782Pear of the Dog ($14) with Appleton White Rum, Cocchi Vermouth Pear Cordial, Lime, and Dillon’s Pear Bitters.

IMG_2786Crispy Pig Ears with Maple Syrup ($6) – I am a bit mixed about this. While it is a mix of savoury and sweet, and not a lot of fatty bits, it was a little odd to me, like I was eating candied pig ears.

While we sat outside the patio to soak up the sun with the bees and wasps, we had decent service from the staff whom occasionally came out. I much prefer its sister location, it’s closer to home.

The County General
936 Queen St. w.
Toronto, ON
M6J 1G9

Leave a Reply

