Visit: Bite Beauty Lip Lab (New York)

We didn’t plan very much prior to our NYC trip, merely because we were busy with work, so we decided we were going to wing it. There were a few places we wanted to visit though, one of them is the Bite Beauty Lip Lab in SoHo.

IMG_3619

Not food related, but since Bite Beauty’s lipsticks are edible (lipsticks are made with food-grade ingredients), we will run with it — just don’t eat your lipstick. 😉

I have a few Bite Beauty lipsticks and they are one of the few I reach for on a daily basis. As well, they are a Canadian brand, born right in Toronto.

The Lip Lab is a place where you can create your own custom shade with the finish and flavour you want. I’m very picky when it comes to shades; I can’t pull off nudes (it makes me look dead) and I find reds a little too bold for me. I tend to stray towards “My Lips But Better” (MLBB) shades to berry colour shades. The idea of creating a custom shade is pretty neat and something we had to do while in New York as sadly, even as a Canadian brand, the Lip Lab is only in NYC.

We went a few minutes after opening without an appointment. While walk-ins are accepted, it is highly recommended to make a reservation perhaps a week or two before your visit to NYC as artists may not be available for walk-ins. Luckily we were accommodated since we came in early.

IMG_3613

The artist asked us what we were looking for. I told her that I was looking for a matte MLBB but different. It took maybe 10 minutes maximum for her to mix some pigments and you trying it on before deciding what is right. However, it may take longer if you’re looking to experiment more.

IMG_3615

IMG_3614

After deciding on the shade, you get to decide on the flavour, from mint to violet and fruit flavours (you can also mix flavours). We both chose citrus mango. Afterwards, pigments and scent oils are melts and mixed together in a machine, then poured into a mould and baked for a few minutes in another machine. We also got to choose from four different lipstick tubes (it won’t affect the shape of the actual lipstick). After the lipstick is set, the artist peels away the half the mould to reveal a portion of the lipstick, then she carefully lower the tube over the lipstick. You can watch this entire process from start to finish. The custom lipstick costs $45, while it is on the upper end of lipsticks, the pigmentation, natural ingredients and the experience is recommended to anyone who loves lipsticks.

IMG_3617

IMG_3618.jpg

Bite Beauty Lip Lab
174 Prince St.
New York, NY 10012
United States

One thought on “Visit: Bite Beauty Lip Lab (New York)

  1. OMG THAT IS SOOOO COOL!!! Hahaha. It is quite expensive though.

    Jennifer, you should have taken a photo with the new colour! I wanna see. 😛

    P.S. I can’t pull off nude either. I look dead too. I think it only works with people with darker complexion… I look good in bright colours because I’m so pale.

Leave a Reply

