Eat: Ladurée SoHo

Founded in 1862 in Paris, Ladurée is well-known for its macarons (and probably invention of it). It’s one of those places for anyone who loves macarons that have to visit if there’s a boutique nearby. We don’t have one in Toronto, though rumours were swirling that Ladurée may open one.

IMG_1305.jpg

We went to their SoHo location, which also has a restaurant. We were there to just buy some macarons to take home. It was packed with people, which I find was quite disorganized. Some of the dining patrons were seated at the front section of the store, where coffee and pastries to-go are ordered. There was a line of people to order pastries, people huddling around as they wait for a table and seated dining patrons, all in one area.

IMG_3694

IMG_3693

Nonetheless, it was hard not to marvel at the pretty display of pastries.

I got a box of six macarons for $21 ($3.50 each). Not going to lie, I kind of winced, these better be worth the reputation and the dollar payout.

IMG_3725.jpg

From L to R: Chocolate, Pistachio, Raspberry, Rose, Maple Syrup and Cassis.

I brought them home to Toronto to share with my family. If you do not eat them the day of purchase, put your macarons in the fridge. It can be kept up to 3-4 days. When you’re ready to eat them (it’s hard to eat something so pretty…), leave it out for a few minutes to bring them to room temperature.

My favourite were the Rose, Pistachio and Cassis. The macarons were delicate, not too sweet and its dedicated flavours were strong, but not overpowering. I did regret bringing just six home, wished I bought more.

Also, can I give some love to the packaging? I kept the pretty (now empty) box to remind me that I should have bought more macarons.

Ladurée SoHo
398 W Broadway
New York, NY 10012
United States

Leave a Reply

