Recipe: Quinoa Stuffed Peppers (Adaptation)

IMG_0444

Whenever I make quinoa, it’s mostly pilaf style since it’s easy to put together for work lunch. Time to change it up a bit. When I found a recipe for quinoa stuffed peppers from Sweet Potato Chronicles, it as perfect since I had almost everything, expect for the peppers and cheese.

Now, cheese is rarely every in my fridge, but I happened to find vegan cheese at the grocery store, and get this… it melts!

IMG_0434.jpg
I may not have it in my fridge that often, especially since it’s so pricey and I can live without adding no cheese, but it’s definitely a bit of saviour for my tummy 😉

There are a few adjustments I made for my stuffed peppers. I only added ½ cup of the vegan cheese since when I tasted it, it was pretty salty.

Ingredients
– 3 cups cooked quinoa (1 cup dried yields about 3 cups)
– 1 cup corn kernels (I used frozen because corn is not in season)
– ½ cup canned black beans, drained and rinsed
– ½ cup tomatoes, diced
– ½ cup Daiya mozzarella style shred cheese
– 3 tbsp flat-leaf parsley, chopped
– 1 tsp cumin
– 1 tsp chili powder
– salt and pepper
– 8 bell peppers, tops cut and seeded
– bell peppers tops, chopped (don’t waste!)
– 3 tbsp olive oil

Direction:

1. Cook quinoa as per directions on the package and set aside.

1. Preheat oven to 350°F.

IMG_0433
2. In a bowl, mix cooked quinoa, corn, black beans, tomatoes, vegan cheese, parsley, cumin, chili powder chopped bell pepper tops and olive together. Taste for seasoning before adding salt and pepper.

IMG_0441.jpg
3. Carefully spoon filling into the peppers and place them in a baking pan, standing up.

4. Bake for 30 minutes or until peppers are soft. I kept mine in the oven for about 40 minutes though.

Leave a Reply

