Eat: Touhenboku Ramen (Yonge/Eglinton location)

It has been awhile since dining at Touhenboku Ramen, since that visit, they have opened a few more locations. My brother haven’t had a bowl of ramen in a long time. Since we were midtown for a dental appointment, we went to Touhenboku’s midtown location.

I remember not being impressed with Touhenboku, average at best.

IMG_5694
Light, chicken broth ramen done Kyushu-style. Kyushu-style ramen is characterized by a deep, flavourful broth made with pork bone and could be mixed with chicken or vegetable broth. It should also have a nice, sheen of fat atop the broth.

The broth was light indeed, but I felt it was bland with no depth of flavour. The egg was basically a hard boiled egg.

IMG_5696
Soboro Ramen ($9.95) – minced pork, egg, beansprouts and green onion.

My brother got a special ramen not listed on the menu. He thought it was alright, but again… he hasn’t had ramen in awhile.

Personally, I wouldn’t go out of my way to eat at Touhenboku. If I wanted basic ramen, I’d just cook up the dried variety.

Touhenboku Ramen (Yonge & Eglinton)
2459 Yonge St.
Toronto, ON
M4P 2H6

Leave a Reply

