Coffee Break: Boxcar Social

Beside farmhouse chic County General Riverside (my visit here) is Boxcar Social, a coffee and wine bar that recently opened about two weeks ago.

IMG_2018While their first location in the Summerhill neighbourhood  is a bit of a trek for a cup of java, this second location is a mere 10 minute walk from home.

IMG_2019The space is full of exposed bricks and pipes, solid wood, leather and monotone colour scheme, giving that industrial-like feel. The only splash of colours is the large art piece on the walls by Canadian artist, John James. Seriously, it’s beautiful.

IMG_2024IMG_2026When I stopped by, I got the sense that some things are not up and ready, like the empty wine racks on the wall (perhaps the bottles come out at night or in the process of obtaining a liquor license), but given the fact that they just recently opened,  I can overlook those details; besides, I was not there for an afternoon glass of wine.

IMG_2023The guys behind Boxcar Social seem to be very passionate at what they do, which is reflected in their concept of curated coffees from various roasters, selected wines, craft beers, scotches and bourbons. They also offer coffee flights, which I would like to try when I have time since I don’t think I’ve stumbled upon a place that offers it. It’s like they’ve gotten coffee brewing down to a science (wouldn’t be surprised that it is).

The Riverside and Leslieville neighbourhood is quite saturated with indie coffee shops, but Boxcar Social is a definite welcome addition, where else would you get a glass of wine as you learn nuances of coffee?

Boxcar Social
4 Boulton Ave.
Toronto, ON
M4M 2J3

2 thoughts on “Coffee Break: Boxcar Social

Leave a comment